HomeResearch It / Online Databases by Subject

Online Databases by Subject


Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Automobile and Small Engine Repair

Books and Literature

Building Codes

  • BC Publications - including the Building Code, Fire Code, and Plumbing Code, which are now offered online to the general public free of charge. (These free of charge publications are under the "Public Library" heading, but they can now be accessed anywhere.)
  • Codes Canada publications (available free in electronic format, requires registration - to register, click "Log On", then under "I am a new customer", click "Registration")

Business

Directories

Driver Education

  • Practice Driving Test by Richmond Public Library - This can help prepare learners for the written part of the BC Learners license application for any class, as well as for the air brake and house trailer endorsements.

Genealogy

General Reference

History

  • Canadiana Online - 19 million pages (95,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. Largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. (Canadian Research Knowledge Network)
  • Héritage - Project to digitize and make available some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing approximately 60 million pages of primary-source documents. Material from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, much is handwritten. (Canadian Research Knowledge Network)
  • Turning the Pages: The Prince Rupert Newspaper Archives - Archive of the Prince Rupert Daily News, maintained and hosted by the Prince Rupert Library.
  • BC Historical Newspapers - Features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. Titles range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Mirror, dating from 1859 to 1995. (UBC Library Open Collections)
  • Points to the Past - Searchable gateway to collections of UBC, UVic, and SFU, accessible from anywhere in BC. (Gale / Cengage)

Homework Help

Legal Information

  • Legal Services Society | Legal Aid BC - Non-profit organization created to provide legal information, advice, and representation services.
  • Family Law in BC - Information on family law provided by the Legal Services Society.
  • MyLawBC - Website designed to generate action plans for legal issues by choosing pathways and answering questions. (Legal Services Society)
  • Aboriginal Legal Aid in BC - Information on legal aid for aboriginal people in B.C (Legal Services Society)
  • Clicklaw - This site provides legal information, education and help for British Columbians. (Courthouse Libraries BC)
  • Beginner's Guide to Finding Legal Information - This is a wiki that explains how to find legal information in British Columbia.
  • BC Laws - BC Laws is published by the Queen's Printer for British Columbia in partnership with the Ministry of Justice and the Legislative Assembly.
  • LawMatters - E-Newsletter for people interested in learning more about legal reference resources and services available in BC. LawMatters is a Courthouse Libraries BC outreach program supported by funding from Law Foundation of BC.
  • Dial-A-Law - A service of People's Law School, a non-profit society based in Vancouver that provides public legal education. The telephone version is at 1-800-565-5297.
  • People's Law School: Q&A - Questions and answers about the law as it applies to British Columbia
  • Justice Laws Website - The online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada, and is useful for federal statutes.
  • Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) - The CanLII.org website provides access to court judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, federal courts, and the courts in all Canada’s provinces and territories. CanLII.org also contains decisions from many tribunals nationally.